Philippine Holidays for 2018

By : | Category : Uncategorized | Comments Off

22nd Jan 2018

2018 holidays

The Philippine holidays (both regular and special non-working days) for 2018 pursuant to Proclamation No. 269 are as follows:

 

01 January 2018, Monday – New Year’s Day (regular holiday)

 

16 February 2018, Friday – Chinese New Year (Special non-working day)

 

25 February 2018, Sunday – EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary (Special non-working day)

 

29 March 2018 – Maundy Thursday (regular holiday)

 

30 March 2018 – Good Friday (regular holiday)

 

31 March 2018 – Black Saturday (Special non-working day)

 

09 April 2018, Monday – Araw ng Kagitingan (regular holiday)

 

01 May 2018, Tuesday – Labor Day (regular holiday)

 

12 June 2018, Tuesday – Independence Day (regular holiday)

 

June 2018 – Eidl Fitr -actual date to be confirmed (regular holiday)

 

21 August 2018, Tuesday – Ninoy Aquino Day (Special non-working day)

 

27 August 2018, last Monday of August – National Heroes’ Day (regular holiday)

 

August 2018 – Eidl Adha -actual date to be confirmed (regular holiday)

 

01 November 2018, Thursday – All Saints’ Day (Special non-working day)

 

02 November 2018, Friday – Additional Special non-working day

 

30 November 2018, Friday – Bonifacio Day (regular holiday)

 

08 December 2018, Saturday – Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary (Special non-working day)

 

24 December 2018, Monday – Additional Special non-working day

 

25 December 2018, Tuesday – Christmas Day (regular holiday)

 

30 December 2018, Sunday – Rizal Day (regular holiday)

 

31 December 2018, Monday – last day of the year (Special non-working day)

 

 As can be seen above, the holidays are classified either as regular holiday or special non-working day. Contrary to popular belief, not all holidays are considered paid.  It is only for regular holidays wherein employees are paid even if they do not come to work.  If they report for work, they must be paid double their daily rate.

 A different rule governs for special non-working days.  The principle of “no work, no pay” will apply. Thus, if an employee does not work on a special non-working day, he is not entitled to be paid for that day.  However, if he comes to work on a special non-working day, there must be a premium of 30% added to his daily rate.

 Nicolas & De Vega Law Offices is a full-service law firm in the Philippines.  You may visit us at the 16th Flr., Suite 1607 AIC Burgundy Empire Tower, ADB Ave., Ortigas Center, 1605 Pasig City, Metro Manila, Philippines.  You may e-mail us at info@ndvlaw.com or visit our website www.ndvlaw.com .

 

Related Posts:

Comments are closed.

  • fb
  • twitter
  • twitter